President's Report: 2005-2006 University of Virginia
From the President
A Year at a Glance
Science and Technology
University of Virginia
Students Faculty
Research and Public Service
Health System
University of Virginia
2006-2007 Financial Report
University of Virginia
President's Report 2006-07


John T. Casteen III, President

Leonard W. Sandridge, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Arthur Garson, Jr., M.D., Executive Vice President and Provost

Robert D. Sweeney, Senior Vice President for Development and Public Affairs

Susan Carkeek, Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer

R. Ariel Gomez, M.D., Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies

William B. Harvey, Vice President and Chief Officer for Diversity and Equity

James L. Hilton, Vice President and Chief Information Officer

R. Edward Howell, Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the Medical Center

Patricia M. Lampkin, Vice President and Chief Student Affairs Officer

Yoke San L. Reynolds, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Colette Sheehy, Vice President for Management and Budget

James H. Aylor, Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science

Robert F. Bruner, Dean of the Darden School of Business

Sharon L. Hostler, M.D., Interim Vice President and Dean of the School of Medicine

John C. Jeffries, Jr., Dean of the School of Law

B. Jeanette Lancaster, Dean of the School of Nursing

Lynda Phillips-Madson, Interim Dean of the School of Continuing and Professional Studies

Robert C. Pianta, Dean of the Curry School of Education

Karen L. Ryan, Interim Dean of the College and Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Karen Van Lengen, Dean of the School of Architecture

Carl P. Zeithaml, Dean of the McIntire School of Commerce

Maurice Apprey, Dean of African American Affairs

John A. Blackburn, Dean of Undergraduate Admission

Allen Groves, Interim Dean of Students

Karin Wittenborg, University Librarian

David J. Prior, Chancellor of the University of Virginia's College at Wise


W. Heywood Fralin, Rector, Roanoke, Virginia

John O. Wynne, Vice Rector, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Daniel R. Abramson, Alexandria, Virginia

A. Macdonald Caputo, Greenwich, Connecticut

Alan A. Diamonstein, Newport News, Virginia

Susan Y. Dorsey, Mechanicsville, Virginia

Thomas F. Farrell II, Richmond, Virginia

G. Slaughter Fitz-Hugh, Jr., Richmond, Virginia

Glynn D. Key, Washington, D.C.

Austin Ligon, Manakin-Sabot, Virginia

Vincent J. Mastracco, Jr., Norfolk, Virginia

Lewis F. Payne, Charlottesville, Virginia

Don R. Pippin, Norton, Virginia

Gordon F. Rainey, Jr., Richmond, Virginia

Warren M. Thompson, Vienna, Virginia

Edwin Darracott Vaughan, Jr., M.D., New York, New York

Carey J. Mignerey, Student Member, Charlottesville, Virginia


Leonard W. Sandridge, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Yoke San L. Reynolds, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Colette Sheehy, Vice President for Management and Budget

Stephen A. Kimata, Assistant Vice President for Finance and University Comptroller

David J. Boling, Associate Comptroller for Financial Reporting and Analysis

Randall B. Ellis, Director of Financial Reporting

Laura N. Lingo, Manager of Financial Reporting

Internal Audit
Barbara J. Deily, Chief Audit Executive

University of Virginia President's Report

Produced by the Office of Public Affairs
P.O. Box 400229, Charlottesville, Virginia, 22904-0229.

Editor, Charity Boudouris
Art Director, Kim Wendel
Writer, Charlie Feigenoff

Photography by Dan Addison, Suzy Allman, Mike Bailey, Tom Cogill, Phoebe Crisman, Mario Delgado, Dan Grogan, Stephanie Gross, Peggy Harrison, Rebecca Hay/University of Georgia, Erik S. Lesser, Jack Looney, Melissa Maki, Tracy McFadden, NASA/JPL/University of Arizona, Elizabeth Olivier/University of Tennessee, David Petkofsky/U.Va. Media Relations, Matthew Rosenberg/Daily Progress, Andrew Shurtleff, Scott Smith, Kay Taylor, Beverly Wann, Jason O. Watson, Michaele White, and Emily Williams. South Lawn illustration by Michael J. Powers.

Atlas Image obtained as part of the Two Micron All Sky Survey (2MASS), a joint project of the University of Massachusetts and the Infrared Processing and Analysis Center/California Institute of Technology, funded by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and the National Science Foundation.

Bill Schoening, Vanessa Harvey/REU program/National Optical Astronomy Observatory/Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy/National Science Foundation.

Rome Reborn image is copyright of the Regents of the University of California 2007.

Consistent with federal and state law, the University does not discriminate in any of its programs, procedures, or practices on the basis of age, color, disability, national or ethnic origin, political affiliation, race, religion, sex (including pregnancy), sexual orientation, or veteran status. The University operates equal opportunity and affirmative action programs for faculty, staff, and students, including discriminatory harassment policies and procedures. The University of Virginia is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action employer. The University's Section 504 and Americans with Disabilities Act coordinator is Bradford K. Holland, University ombudsman (434-924-7819; Darlene Scott-Scurry is the director of Equal Opportunity Programs and the Title IX coordinator in the Office of Equal Opportunity Programs (434-924-3200; Both offices are in Washington Hall, East Range, P.O. Box 400219, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4219.

An online version of this report is available at

Produced with private funds.

Copyright © 2007 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia



University of Virginia
  Last Modified: Thursday, 05-Aug-2010 15:21:01 EDT
© Copyright 2019 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia